At Golgotha | A Prayer for Good Friday

I found the following poem at http://www.bruceprewer.com/DocB/BGOODFRIDAY.htm.

AT GOLGOTHA

Today
I dared to step much closer
to the man on Skull Hill
than ever before.

I elbowed
past the curious crowd,
beyond the high priest’s mob,
and stood near Mary and John.

The soldiers
leered at me and one said:
“Take a good look mate,
it may be you tomorrow.”

Determined
I went and stood about five
paces from that central cross
and looked up.

Hideous scene;
smell of blood, sweat and urine.
I wanted to throw up;
the soldiers chuckled.

Then I braced myself
and took a long searching look
at the crucified son of Mary
in his agony.

O his eyes!
They turned this way and that
wildly searching for something
that never came.

An undertaker
once told me that employees
who take too much notice
don’t last long at the job.

Here things are different;
today I took a lot of notice
and saw the eyes of God
searching for God.

I’ll love him forever;
by the sheer grace of this Lord
who was forsaken that we
might never be so.
A Poem by B D Prewer 2002

Leave a comment

Filed under Good Friday, Holy Week, Lent, Liturgy, Poetry

Leave a Reply

